Friday, July 24, 2015

Minutes 4/21/15

April 21, 2015

Michael Livingston, Chair
Woody Dukes
Bruce Hoffman
Sarah Owens, Sect’y
Bob Hanna
Rebekah Engle
Erma Hoffman, Treasurer
Brock Campbell

p=present a=absent e=excused

Residents:  David Dahle, Neal Kern, Rosa Leonardi
Organizations: Diana Dettwyler, Downtown Salem Strong, Alan Mela, Grocery Outlet
City/County Representatives:  Officer Jason Vanmeter, Salem Police Department; Councilor Bennett, Salem City Council; Annie Battee, Neighborhood Services Specialist; Sheronne Blasi, Salem Police Facility Task Force

The annual meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. on Tuesday, April 21, 2015, at the First Christian Church at 685 Marion Street NE, Salem.  Michael Livingston was in the chair and Sarah Owens was secretary.

The agenda and the minutes of the February meeting (the March meeting was canceled) were approved by unanimous consent.  

Officer Vanmeter reported on the Downtown Enforcement team’s continuing efforts to connect homeless residents with emergency services.   
Councilor Bennett reported that Budget Committee meetings were under way and renewed his invitation to residents to attend and share their concerns.  He also mentioned the effort to create a bike boulevard (or “family friendly use”, in the parlance of city staff) downtown, saying that the proponents’ presentation was “very good.”  He mentioned in passing items on the  agenda for upcoming City Council meetings, and advised CANDO to “get ahead” of the problem that the $300-million, 3-year capitol building remodel is likely to create with respect to residential parking when the legislature is moved to the former Public Utilities Commission/Sears building.      

Annie Battee gave a presentation on her division’s services and staffing limitations, and received confirmation that the board intended to “roll over” the balance of the communications fund allocated to CANDO.    

Sheronne Blasi, a member of the Blue Ribbon Task Force on the Police Facility, gave a presentation on the Task Force’s progress analyzing various aspects of the Civic Center Seismic Upgrade and New Police Facility project.  

In new business, Sarah Owens nominated David Dahle, Neal Kern, and Diana Dettwyler to serve as board members, and all three were elected by unanimous consent.  The Chair announced that officers would be selected at the May meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 7:30 p.m. 

No comments:

Post a Comment